What is a User?

Users are members of your AlertOps account. They have the capability to receive and respond to alerts. 

When you have many users, you can add them to groups and create on-call schedules for them. This allows for the users to be organized properly within your AlertOps account. 

How to Add a User to Your Account

  1. In the menu bar, click on Users
  2. Click on Add User in the top right corner.
  3. Enter a username and email for the user. Then, enter the first and last name. 
  4. Select the desired role for the user. 
  5. Select the user type.
  6. Select a group to add the user into. Optionally, you may create a new group in this field.  
  7. Click Add.  

Each user must have a unique user name and an official email address. After clicking Add, a login link will be sent to the user’s official email address so they may create a password.

User Management Details

On the User Management page, you can add user contacts, view or edit their security roles, view groups the user belongs to, and view their schedules. To reach the User Management page, click Users in the menu-bar. Then, click on the desired user.

Contact Methods

Contact methods define the way in which AlertOps contacts a specific user. You may select contact methods such as email, SMS, or phone. Push notification contact methods are added automatically after a user registers their AlertOps mobile app. 

To add a contact method: 

  1. On the User Management page, click the the Contact Methods tab.
  2. Click on Add Contact Method in the bottom, right-hand corner. 
  3. Select a Contact Method from the drop-down menu.
  4. Add Contact Detail based on the type of contact method. 
  5. Change the Contact Sequence to decide which contact method to use first.  When selecting User settings in Message Rules, the User profile determines Contact Methods and sequence for notifications.

Roles

In this tab, you may view or select User Roles. To change User Roles you must be an App Admin.

To change the user role:

  1. On the user management page, click on the Roles Tab.
  2. Select the desired role. 
  3. Click Update Role. 

Groups

In this tab, view all groups that a user is a member of.  And, view a user's Group Member Roles (Primary, Secondary, or Manager).  If the only visible Member Role is Manager, this means there is a schedule in place that defines the Roles.

Schedules

View the user’s schedules for all their groups.

Out of Office

Add Out of Office schedules to define when a user is not available to receive alerts. 

Remove an Existing User

Before removing a user, make sure that the user is not part of a group schedule. 

  1. In the menu bar, click on Users.
  2. Under the Action column, click the Delete icon next to the user you wish to remove.
Did this answer your question?